The internationally acclaimed portrait photographer Michael Dannenmann has been the chairman of the jury of the Felix Schoeller Photo Award since the competition began. Dannenmann alone holds the right to nominate the members of the jury, all of whom judge and decide on the quality of the entries without any influence of the company whatsoever. This independence is what consistently inspires and motivates the prominent jury members from the worlds of museums and galleries, research and academia, specialist publication and photojournalism to place their professional expertise and critical judgment at our disposal. The jury does not know the names or origins of the entrants.

Jury 2019

Michael Dannenmann

Chairman of the jury

Photo Tatjana Blechert

Michael Dannenmann initially studied art at the Stuttgart State Academy of Art and Design and went on to study photography at the University of Dortmund. When he’s not tied down by chairing the jury, he travels the world setting the scene for the persons portrayed in his highly acclaimed portrait work. Since 1990, he has predominantly shot portraits of artists, dancers, musicians, authors and prominent representatives of the worlds of business and politics in private or in his own studio. His work has been published in various media, including international magazines and book projects, and has also been shown in numerous exhibitions and collections. In addition to working as a photographer, Michael Dannenberg also hosts workshops and curates exhibitions. He is a member of the DGPh.


Gérard A. Goodrow

Photo Tobias Grewe

Gérard A. Goodrow (born in 1964, New Jersey, USA) studied at Rutgers University in New Jersey, the City University of New York and the University of Cologne. His main professional experience includes roles at the Museum Ludwig in Cologne (1992 to 1996), the Ursula Blickle Foundation in Kraichtal (1994 to 2001), Christie’s auction house in London (1996 to 2003) and the two fairs ART COLOGNE and Cologne Fine Art (2003 to 2008). Since 2007 he has been a lecturer at the Centre for International Arts Management in Cologne and Düsseldorf. In the last 25 years, Gérard Goodrow has organised more than 50 art and photography exhibitions in Germany and abroad. He is in demand as a presenter and writer on international contemporary art, photography and the global art market. Gérard A. Goodrow now works in Cologne as a freelance curator and author.


Nils-Arne Kässens

Photo: Angela von Brill

Nils-Arne Kässens is the Director of the Museum Quarter Osnabrück, the complex comprising the Felix-Nussbaum-Haus, the Museum of Cultural History, the Villa Schlikker, and the Akzisehaus. In the course of his career, Kässens realized numerous national and international art projects, for example, for the Art and Exhibition Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany, the Exhibition Hall of the Fridericianum Museum, the Museion Bolzano, or sculpture x/USA. As a guest lecturer, Nils-Arne Kässens lectured at universities including the University of Kassel, the Leuphana University in Lüneburg, Windsor University in Canada, or at Wayne-State-University in the USA.


Dr. Dana Landau

Photo: Isabel Prinzing

Dana Landau ist Senior Researcher bei der Schweizerischen Friedensstiftung "swisspeace", einer praxisorientierten Friedensforschungseinrichtung der Universität Basel. Sie promovierte in Politikwissenschaft an der University of Oxford, Department of Politics and International Relations. Zuvor war sie als Post-Doktorandin am Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Genf tätig, wo sie sich auch mit dem Transfer von Forschungsergebnissen zu Friedensaufbau, Mediation und Friedensprozessgestaltung in den Bereichen Politik und Praxis beschäftigte. Ihre Forschungsinteressen konzentrieren sich auf Fragen der ethnischen Vielfalt und Integration in der Friedensförderung und -schaffung, dem Aufbau von Staaten nach Konflikten, insbesondere in den westlichen Balkanstaaten, sowie auf Minderheitenrechte, Nationalismus und Flüchtlingsrückkehr. Zuvor arbeitete sie in Pristina, Kosovo, für NGOs, internationale Organisationen und die Schweizer Regierung in den Bereichen Minderheitenrechte, Menschenrechte und Entwicklungszusammenarbeit.


Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schneckener

Photo KHK/GCR21

Ulrich Schneckener has been a professor of International Relations & Peace and Conflict research at the University of Osnabrück since 2009. He studied Political Science at the Universities of Mainz, Leipzig, and Berlin as well as at the London School of Economics. He earned his doctorate in 2000 at the University of Bremen and worked from 2002 to 2009 at the Foundation for Science and Politics in Berlin. Since 2016 he is chairman of the board of the German Foundation for Peace Research (DSF). He has been researching for over 20 years on international security and peace policy as well as on dealing with civil wars and political violence. His most critical German-language publications include "Ways out of the Civil War" (Edition Suhrkamp, 2002), "Transnational Terrorism" (Edition Suhrkamp, 2006), "Fragile Statehood" (Editor, Nomos 2006) and "The Long Shadow of Militia" (Co-Author, Campus 2016).


Clara Maria Sels

Photo Joanna Kischka

In 2011, Clara Maria Sels co-founded the Duesseldorf Photo Weekend together with Werner Lippert, the former director of NRW-Forum Düsseldorf. She assumed the position of festival director in 2013 and has successfully managed the event ever since. In 2014 and 2015, Clara Sels organised the exhibitions staged at the NRW-Forum Düsseldorf in conjunction with the Duesseldorf Photo Weekend. A highlight of the photo festival in 2016 was the exhibition HP Horst Photographer of Style which was also able to be shown in Düsseldorf thanks to the initiative of the Duesseldorf Photo Weekends. Clara Sels is the owner of the Clara Maria Sels Gallery in Düsseldorf, which she founded in 1989. Among the first artists she represented were the photographers Duane Michals and Francesca Woodman.

Der Deutsche Friedenspreis für Fotografie hat als Sonderkatgorie des Felix Schoeller Photo Award eine eigene sechsköpfige Jury. Sie besteht aus drei Jurymitgliedern des Felix Schoeller
Photo Award. Zusätzlich werden drei weitere Personen aus den Bereichen Friedensforschung
und zeitgenössische Kunst in die Jury berufen. Die Jury entscheidet völlig unabhängig über die
konzeptionelle und fotografische Qualität der Arbeiten. Sie kennt Namen und Herkunft der
Einreicher nicht.

Michael Dannenmann

Jury-Vorsitzender

Photo Tatjana Blechert

Michael Dannenmann studierte zuerst Kunst an der Kunstakademie Stuttgart, danach Fotografie an der Hochschule Dortmund. Wenn er nicht gerade die Jury leitet, ist er weltweit unterwegs, um Menschen für seine viel beachteten Porträtarbeiten zu inszenieren. Seit 1990 porträtiert er vor allem Künstler, Tänzer, Musiker, Schriftsteller sowie Persönlichkeiten aus Wirtschaft und Politik in ihrem persönlichen Umfeld oder in seinem eigenen Studio. Seine Arbeiten werden unter anderem in internationalen Magazinen, in Buchprojekten, aber auch in zahlreichen Ausstellungen und Sammlungen gezeigt. Neben seiner fotografischen Arbeit führt Michael Dannenmann Workshops durch und kuratiert Ausstellungen. Er ist Mitglied in der DGPh.


Gérard A. Goodrow

Photo Tobias Grewe

Gérard A. Goodrow (geb. 1964 in New Jersey/USA) studierte an der Rutgers University in New Jersey, der City University of New York und der Universität zu Köln. Seine wichtigsten beruflichen Stationen sind u.a. das Museum Ludwig in Köln (1992-1996), die Ursula Blickle Stiftung in Kraichtal (1994-2001), das Auktionshaus Christie’s in London (1996-2003) sowie die Kunstmessen ART COLOGNE und Cologne Fine Art (2003-2008). Seit 2007 ist er Dozent am CIAM – Zentrum für Internationales Kunstmanagement in Köln und Düsseldorf. Gérard Goodrow organisierte in den letzten 25 Jahren über 50 Kunst- und Fotoausstellungen im In- und Ausland. Er ist gefragter Vortragender und Publizist zur internationalen Gegenwartskunst, Fotografie und dem globalen Kunstmarkt. Gérard A. Goodrow lebt heute als freier Kurator und Autor in Köln.


Nils-Arne Kässens

Photo: Angela von Brill

Nils-Arne Kässens ist Direktor des Museumsquartiers Osnabrück, zu dem das Felix-Nussbaum-Haus, das Kulturgeschichtliche Museum, die Villa Schlikker sowie das Akzisehaus gehören. In seiner Laufbahn realisierte Kässens national und international eine Vielzahl von Kunstprojekten, zum Beispiel für die Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, die Kunsthalle Friedericianum, das Museion Bolzano oder die sculpture x/USA. Nils-Arne Kässens hielt als Gastdozent Vorträge unter anderem an der Universität Kassel, der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg, der Windsor University/Canada oder der Wayne-State-University/USA.


Dr. Dana Landau

Photo: Isabel Prinzing

Dana Landau ist Senior Researcher bei der Schweizerischen Friedensstiftung "swisspeace", einer praxisorientierten Friedensforschungseinrichtung der Universität Basel. Sie promovierte in Politikwissenschaft an der University of Oxford, Department of Politics and International Relations. Zuvor war sie als Post-Doktorandin am Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Genf tätig, wo sie sich auch mit dem Transfer von Forschungsergebnissen zu Friedensaufbau, Mediation und Friedensprozessgestaltung in den Bereichen Politik und Praxis beschäftigte. Ihre Forschungsinteressen konzentrieren sich auf Fragen der ethnischen Vielfalt und Integration in der Friedensförderung und -schaffung, dem Aufbau von Staaten nach Konflikten, insbesondere in den westlichen Balkanstaaten, sowie auf Minderheitenrechte, Nationalismus und Flüchtlingsrückkehr. Zuvor arbeitete sie in Pristina, Kosovo, für NGOs, internationale Organisationen und die Schweizer Regierung in den Bereichen Minderheitenrechte, Menschenrechte und Entwicklungszusammenarbeit.


Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schneckener

Photo KHK/GCR21

Ulrich Schneckener ist seit 2009 Professor für Internationale Beziehungen & Friedens- und Konfliktforschung an der Universität Osnabrück. Er studierte Politikwissenschaft an den Universitäten Mainz, Leipzig und Berlin sowie an der London School of Economics, er promovierte 2000 an der Universität Bremen und arbeitete von 2002 bis 2009 an der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik in Berlin. Seit 2016 ist er Vorsitzender des Vorstandes der Deutschen Stiftung Friedensforschung (DSF). Er forscht seit über 20 Jahren zur internationalen Sicherheits- und Friedenspolitik sowie zum Umgang mit Bürgerkriegen und politischer Gewalt. Zu seinen wichtigsten deutschsprachigen Veröffentlichungen gehören „Auswege aus dem Bürgerkrieg“ (Edition Suhrkamp, 2002), „Transnationaler Terrorismus“ (Edition Suhrkamp, 2006), „Fragile Staatlichkeit“ (Herausgeber, Nomos 2006) und „Der lange Schatten der Miliz“ (Ko-Autor, Campus 2016).


Clara Maria Sels

Photo Joanna Kischka

Clara Maria Sels hat 2011 mit Werner Lippert, dem ehemaligen Direktor des NRW-Forums Düsseldorf, das Duesseldorf Photo Weekend gegründet. 2013 übernahm sie die Leitung des Festivals und hat es erfolgreich alleine weitergeführt. In den Jahren 2014 und 2015 organisierte Clara Sels die Ausstellungen im NRW-Forum Düsseldorf zum Duesseldorf Photo Weekend. Ein Highlight des Fotovestivals 2016 war die Ausstellung HP Horst Photographer of Style, die auch durch die Initiative des Duesseldorf Photo Weekends in Düsseldorf gezeigt werden konnte. Clara Sels ist Inhaberin der Galerie Clara Maria Sels in Düsseldorf, die sie 1989 gründete. Zu ihren ersten betreuten Fotokünstlern gehörten unter anderen Duane Michals und Francesca Woodman.