Partners

City of Osnabrück

Initiator

It is no coincidence that a new Peace Cultural Prize comes from Osnabrück. The initiators have created the German Peace Prize for Photography from the context of the city's special history. Osnabrück is a city of peace. The history of the Peace of Westphalia shows that peace is possible. It also shows, however, how much it must be struggled for. After all, it took five years of peace congress, 150 embassies from Europe and the Reich and countless negotiations before the Peace of Westphalia could end the 30-year war. The city of Osnabrück understands its special history as a mandate for peace policy commitment. This also applies to the cultural offerings that the city develops - beyond regional borders.

www.osnabrueck.de

Museumsquartier Osnabrück

Initiator

The four buildings in the Museumsquartier Osnabrück (Felix Nussbaum Haus, Kulturgeschichtliches Museum, Akzisehaus, Villa Schlikker) not only house the world's largest collection of works by the painter Felix Nussbaum, a selection of which is presented in Daniel Libeskind's impressive architecture: The art collection goes back to Ancient Antiquity. On display are important works by Albrecht Dürer, a comprehensive collection of cultural history, and changing exhibitions on positions in classical modernism and contemporary art. Using the means of art and in an examination of history, a central question of our time is explored here: How do we want and how can we live together in peace?

www.museumsquartier-osnabrueck.de

FELIX SCHOELLER GROUP (Initiator)

Initiator

COMMITMENT TO PEACE BY INSIDE AND OUTSIDE
The topic of peace is omnipresent in times of increasing armed conflict. With the announcement of the German Peace Prize for Photography, the Felix Schoeller Group encourages reflection on the many facets of peace. Also about what each individual can contribute to peace, what the individual peace building blocks are. The globally active Schoeller Group promotes mutual respect, understanding and tolerance, directed inwards into the company.

Photography is part of the company's DNA, as it has been involved in the production of high-quality photographic base papers for more than 125 years now. From the outset, the business was international with customers such as Gevaert in Belgium and Kodak in the USA and Great Britain. Over the decades, production facilities have been set up in the USA, Canada, Russia, China and India, and the sales organisations are represented around the globe. This internationality shapes the cooperation within the company and demands an open exchange with people from other cultural backgrounds.

www.felix-schoeller.com

CAPTURE X

The 2021 Emerging Photographer Award will be supported by CAPTURE X Fine Art Inkjet Paper. CAPTURE X offers both professionals and amateur photographers the opportunity for intensive exchange with experts and within the community in addition to high-quality fine art papers. On the one hand, the consultation should enable the best printing results. On the other hand, the results of the exchange in terms of content flow into product enhancements, for example. The current CAPTURE X product range consists of cotton papers, matt artist papers and genuine photo papers. The works of the winners and nominees shown in the exhibition "Felix Schoeller Photo Award - Winners & Nominees 2021" will be printed on high-quality Fine Art papers from CAPTURE X.

capture-x-papers.com

PROFIFOTO

PROFIFOTO is Germany’s leading publication for professional photographers and budding professionals. Month on month PROFIFOTO publishes breaking news about all the latest photo technology and professional photography in its magazine of over 100 pages. Both its lavish portfolios of high-calibre photographic work and itsexploration of creative, professional, cultural and technical aspects of photography are a firm part of its editorial policy.

PROFIFOTO is one of the co-founders of adf, Arbeitskreis Digitale Fotografie e.V., and a member of the Technical Image Press Association, TIPA, which presents the highly sought after TIPA Award each year for the world’s best photography and imaging products.

www.profifoto.de

DGPh

The German Photographic Association (DGPh) is an organisation primarily committed to promoting the cultural aspects of photography and related visual media. Its 1000-strong membership consists of highly respected personalities on the German and international photography scene, who share the common goal of promoting photography’s standing among the general public. The association also has a communications role, working to publicise ground-breaking photographic achievements. To this end, DGPh has founded numerous prizes and awards to honour institutions and individuals in the world of photography for work that is outstanding in terms of its visual or journalistic quality, its contribution to science, or its impact on society.

www.dgph.de

Partner

Stadt Osnabrück

Initiator

Dass ein neuer Friedens-Kulturpreis aus Osnabrück kommt, ist kein Zufall. Die Initiatoren haben den Deutschen Friedenspreis für Fotografie aus Kontext der besonderen Geschichte der Stadt ins Leben gerufen. Osnabrück ist Friedensstadt. Die Geschichte des Westfälischen Friedens zeigt, dass Frieden möglich ist. Sie zeigt aber auch, wie sehr darum gerungen werden muss. Immerhin brauchte es fünf Jahre Friedenskongress, 150 Gesandtschaften aus Europa und dem Reich und unzählige Verhandlungen, bis der Westfälische Frieden den 30-jährigen Krieg beenden konnte. Die Stadt Osnabrück begreift ihre besondere Geschichte als Auftrag für friedenspolitisches Engagement. Das gilt auch für die kulturellen Angebote, die die Stadt entwickelt – über regionale Grenzen hinaus.

www.osnabrueck.de

Museumsquartier Osnabrück

Initiator

Die vier Häuser im Museumsquartier Osnabrück (Felix Nussbaum Haus, Kulturgeschichtliches Museum, Akzisehaus, Villa Schlikker) beherbergen nicht nur die international größte Sammlung von Werken des Malers Felix Nussbaum, von denen jeweils eine Auswahl in der beeindruckenden Architektur Daniel Libeskinds präsentiert wird: Die Kunstsammlung reicht zurück bis zur Antike. Gezeigt werden bedeutende Werke von Albrecht Dürer, eine umfassende kulturhistorische Sammlung und daneben wechselnde Ausstellungen zu Positionen der klassischen Moderne und Gegenwartskunst. Mit den Mitteln der Kunst und in Auseinandersetzung mit Geschichte wird hier einer zentralen Frage unserer Zeit nachgegangen: Wie wollen, wie können wir in Frieden miteinander leben?

www.museumsquartier-osnabrueck.de

FELIX SCHOELLER GROUP

Initiator

BEKENNTNIS ZUM FRIEDEN NACH INNEN UND AUßEN
Das Thema Frieden ist in Zeiten zunehmender kriegerischer Auseinandersetzungen omnipräsent. Mit der Ausschreibung des Deutschen Friedenspreises für Fotografie regt die Felix Schoeller Gruppe an, über die vielen Facetten von Frieden nachzudenken. Auch darüber, was jeder einzelne zum Frieden beitragen kann, welches die individuellen Friedensbausteine sind. Nach innen ins Unternehmen gerichtet wirbt die global aktive Schoeller Gruppe für gegenseitigen Respekt, gegenseitiges Verständnis und Toleranz.

Fotografie liegt in der DNA des Unternehmens, denn es befasst sich seit nunmehr fast 125 Jahren mit der Herstellung von hochwertigen Fotobasispapieren. Das Geschäft war von Anfang an mit Kunden wie Gevaert in Belgien oder Kodak in den USA und Großbritannien international. Im Laufe der Jahrzehnte wurden Produktionsstätten in den USA, in Kanada, Russland, China und Indien aufgebaut, die Sales Organisationen sind auf dem ganzen Globus vertreten. Diese Internationalität prägt das Miteinander im Unternehmen und fordert den offenen Austausch mit Menschen aus anderen Kulturkreisen.

www.felix-schoeller.com

CAPTURE X

Der Felix Schoeller Nachwuchsförderpreis wird 2021durch CAPTURE X Fine Art Inkjet Paper unterstützt. CAPTURE X bietet sowohl Profis als auch Amateurfotografen neben hochwertigen Fine Art-Papieren die Möglichkeit des intensiven Austauschs mit Experten sowie innerhalb der Community. Zum einen soll die Beratung beste Druckergebnisse ermöglichen. Zum anderen fließen die inhaltlichen Ergebnisse des Austauschs beispielsweise in Produkterweiterungen ein. Die aktuelle Produktpalette von CAPTURE X besteht aus Baumwollpapieren, matten Künstlerpapieren und echten Fotopapieren. Auch die Werke der Sieger und Nominierten, die in der Ausstellung „Felix Schoeller Photo Award - Winners & Nominees 2021“ gezeigt werden, werden auf hochwertige Fine Art Papiere von CAPTURE X gedruckt.

capture-x-papers.com

PROFIFOTO

PROFIFOTO ist Deutschlands führendes Medium für professionelle Fotografen und alle, die es werden wollen. Monat für Monat bringt PROFIFOTO auf weit über 100 Seiten alles über aktuelle Fototechnik und professionelle Fotografie. Die Präsentation hochwertiger fotografischer Arbeiten in Form großzügiger Portfolios ist ebenso fester redaktioneller Bestandteil von PROFIFOTO wie die Auseinandersetzung mit kreativen, berufsständischen, kulturellen und technischen Aspekten des Mediums.
PROFIFOTO ist Mit-Initiator des adf, Arbeitskreis Digitale Fotografie e.V. sowie Mitglied der Technical Image Press Association, TIPA, die einmal jährlich die weltbesten Foto- und Imagingprodukte mit dem begehrten TIPA-Award auszeichnet.

www.profifoto.de

DGPh

Die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Photographie (DGPh) versteht sich als ideelle Organisation, die sich vorrangig für die kulturellen Belange der Photographie und verwandter Bildmedien einsetzt. Ihre ca. 1000 Mitglieder sind verdiente Persönlichkeiten der deutschen und internationalen Photoszene. Diese vereint das Ziel, das allgemeine Ansehen der Photographie in der Öffentlichkeit zu fördern. Die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Photographie versteht sich nicht zuletzt als repräsentatives Organ für die Darstellung und Vermittlung wegweisender photographischer Leistungen in der Öffentlichkeit. In diesem Sinne hat die DGPh auch zahlreiche Preise und Auszeichnungen gestiftet, die an Persönlichkeiten und Institutionen der Photographie vergeben werden, die sich in besonderer Weise durch bildnerische, wissenschaftliche, publizistische oder gesellschaftlich wirksam gewordene Werke profiliert haben.

www.dgph.de